Image
0

We’re soaring, we’re flying, there’s not a Nicholas Sparks book that we can’t read.

save haven

Since the ‘Hooked on Books‘ launch last week, I have turned into an unexpected bookworm. Unlike Shellie, I haven’t struggled in finding a place to read. In fact, I discovered the beauty in reading on the bus, in my bed, on the couch, in the garden, in the bath and even on the loo! You can read anywhere, but I think you require a good book in order to make this happen, and ‘Save Haven‘ has most certainly become my “good book“.

As you can see from my picture, I’m on chapter twenty five. I have whizzed through this book but only because it possesses an incredible storyline. If you have been reading with me, you will know that by now Katie possesses a dark secret; she has been living in a world of domestic abuse carried out by her alcoholic husband Kevin (I HATE, HATE, HATE HIM) who appears to get a “kick” out of making Katie’s life miserable. At H.O.B. we do not condone any form of abuse, so I did find this part of the storyline rather unbearable. I’m still feeling haunted by the image of domestic abuse and its existence in our world; however I believe it is a good thing to possess awareness upon matters such as this, so I am glad that I continued reading.

Katie has also met Alex. I can hear all of our H.O.B. female readers sighing at the thought of his beautiful personality and desire for our Katie. During the earlier chapters, we discovered that Alex was once married to a woman named Carly and they had two beautiful children together, Josh and Kristen. Carly, Alex and the children lived happily together until Carly died of terminal cancer. Alex is now in love with Katie. With each flick of the page, their love continues to grow and it’s one of my most favourite things about this book.

At the present moment, Kevin’s alcohol in-take has started to grow and he appears to be slowly figuring out where Katie (or in his case, Erin) has ran off to. My heart pounds at the thought of him finding Katie; and the worst part of it all, is that he is getting closer and closer. I’m afraid that his next pit stop will be Southport (where Katie is currently staying) and I can’t imagine what he will do when he finds her… or will he?

I hope you keep whizzing through ‘Save Haven‘. I will be back next Sunday with more updates about the book. Keep tweeting and emailing us your thoughts, we love hearing from you!

Keep reading, Elle.

Leave a comment